Author Topic: "Rough Night" M3a1 Restoration  (Read 7910 times)

big44maghunter

"Rough Night" M3a1 Restoration
« on: October 05, 2016, 06:30:05 PM »
Well, thought I would start a thread on my restoration.  It'll take a long time but might as well start one now.  I chose the name Rough Night, just liked it. No special hidden meaning.
I got this track this time last year and have been out of town for work most of the time since then.  I'm still learning about what all I'll be doing by reviewing the many great builds on here and through many books that I have purchased.   I believe it started life as an M3 and was converted to M16 in the early 50's.  It then was at a base in Michigan where it was surpluses out.  A junk yard had it and eventually it made its way to the person I procured it from last year. 

Yes, it's had a few " Rough Nights"!

big44maghunter

Re: "Rough Night" M3a1 Restoration
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2016, 06:36:54 PM »
I've been removing parts as I get time.  I plan on building a pole barn soon so that should help speed up progress!  Here are some pics of the progress.

Well one to start, I forgot I removed some pic from my phone!  I'll post more from my computer later.

Torque

« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2016, 07:02:44 PM »
I like it, that is one cool exhaust manifold!

steve1973

« Reply #3 on: October 05, 2016, 08:00:43 PM »
Wow, great project. I have a complete hood assembly, intake/exhaust manifold assembly and some other stuff you might want. I sent you a PM.

Steve A.

big44maghunter

« Reply #4 on: October 05, 2016, 08:24:11 PM »
Thanks Steve!  I have a lot of parts, just not on the track!  I have all of the front although I think my cowel (?) Bottom below windshield in not correct.   It may be for a scout car.  Also have this, but it needs some work also.

Darth_Kitten

« Reply #5 on: October 05, 2016, 09:09:49 PM »
Awesome! Looking forward to following your progress!

big44maghunter

« Reply #6 on: October 06, 2016, 04:53:29 PM »