Author Topic: AX160 No Oil pressure  (Read 2566 times)

Valleyordnance

AX160 No Oil pressure
« on: August 07, 2017, 12:43:03 PM »
Hi Guys,

Finally got our M2 started up with our rebuilt AX160 in it.  Starts great - but no oil pressure.  Replaced the oil pump, removed and cleaned the oil cooler, Cleaned the check valve in the oil pump. Positive the pump is engaged on the cam gear.  Pulled oil filter housing to see if there is any blockage, that's is clean as well.  We did not have the block cooked out as it was pretty clean when we rebuilt it.  Absolutely stumped on this one....  Do I need to prime the oil pump?  I've never worked on a motor this old before so I don't know what else it could be.

Thanks for any help!

Chris

steve1973

Re: AX160 No Oil pressure
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2017, 01:18:55 PM »
Are you using an original fuel pump? There is a rod that goes between the pump and cam. This rod also plugs an oIL passage. If this rod is missing you will have no pressure. Hope this helps.

Steve A.

Darth_Kitten

« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2017, 02:29:10 PM »
Most definitely prime the oil pump. I've seen more than one horror story of someone cranking with the motor not primed, and crunch. 

steve-0

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2017, 05:17:25 PM »
I haven't had a problem with a prime myself but I have heard the only way to prime is to pump oil through the oil gauge port.
I think I would try starting the engine with the oil line disconnected and see if there is any flow of oil at all.

Valleyordnance

« Reply #4 on: August 07, 2017, 06:43:34 PM »
Dropped the pan - Primed the pump.   Still no oil pressure. If I pull the port on the side of the block I get no oil squirting out (or even dripping out for that matter)

New fuel pump from Gary's  - original pushrod. 

Still stumped.   

steve-0

• Administrator
« Reply #5 on: August 07, 2017, 07:05:47 PM »
make sure the pick-up tube to the oil pump is sealed.. no cracks or other issues.